Music of “Roujin Z” by Katsuhiro Otomo and Hisashi Eguchi (Theme Songs, Insert Songs, Soundtrack)

Music of “Roujin Z” by Katsuhiro Otomo and Hisashi Eguchi (Theme Songs, Insert Songs, Soundtrack)


Katsuhiro Otomo × Hisashi Eguchi! The masterpiece sci-fi anime "Roujin Z" features a compelling soundtrack including its theme song and more. Released in September 1991, this Japanese animated film was a significant topic of discussion due to the collaboration between Katsuhiro Otomo and Hisashi Eguchi. Otomo handled the original concept, script, and mechanical designs, while Eguchi was responsible for character design concepts. The film was directed by Hiroyuki Kitakubo, known for "BLOOD THE LAST VAMPIRE."

The music was composed by Bun Itakura of the techno-new wave band Chakra and Killing Time. Itakura has also scored various renowned movies from the 80s and 90s, such as "BU·SU," "Kaisya Monogatari : MEMORIES OF YOU" "Tugumi" ,"Byôin de shinu to iu koto" and "Tadontochikuwa."

Theme Song "Hashire Jitensha" (Sung by Mishio Ogawa)

Lyricist and vocalist Mishio Ogawa, a long-time ally from the Chakra era, crafted the theme song "Hashire Jitensha," featuring an ethnic melody that lingers in the ears.

The duo of Bun Itakura and Mishio Ogawa also provided the theme song "Okashina Gogo" for the 1990 film "TUGUMI" directed by Jun Ichikawa, showcasing their distinctive musical style not limited to mere film background music.

Roujin Z Soundtrack 30th Anniversary CD

The long out-of-print soundtrack was reissued in 2021 with the latest remastering on high-quality Blu-spec CD2 and also made available for the first time on analog LP. Composed by Bun Itakura, the soundtrack incorporates diverse elements such as industrial techno, ethnic music, and contemporary music, offering an allure that stands independently from the film, and was a highly anticipated reissue for both Otomo and music enthusiasts alike.

Amazon Link for 30th Anniversary CD

Amazon Link for 30th Anniversary Vinyl